A World Full of Gods by John Greer


I took my time reading this book because I really didn’t want to miss out on anything written in it.  First of all, a monotheist or an atheist does not write this book, it is written by a polytheist so we share a worldview.  And someone who always presents an interesting point of view no matter what subject he is writing about as is evident from his blog “The Archdruid Report” writes it.  Also I’m reading it at a time when I am trying to pinpoint what exactly are my beliefs about deity.  Needless to say it was a big help.

 

This book is not something that you should read only once.  I think that the more you learn about your belief on deity the more you will go back to it.  This is a book that is challenging the pagan community to start thinking of themselves as a RELIGIOUS movement rather than just a movement.  It is a really intelligent argument for polytheism.

 

From the very beginning Greer tells us that his is using Traditional Polytheist as the comparison point to classical monotheism, which I believe is a good thing considering all the diverse types of polytheism that we do have.  He reviews all the different arguments for and against theism and then he uses the principles of theology to explain the polytheistic worldview.  He talks about pagan worship (yes he uses this word which a lot of pagans think of as dirty), pagan spirituality, pagan ethics, and much, much more.

 

John Greer’s knowledge of ceremonial magic, Wicca, and Druidry really helps him in writing this book.  It is a must have in every pagan library in my opinion.    

 

6 thoughts on “A World Full of Gods by John Greer

  1. Chrissy says:

    I put it on order this past Saturday through my library. Can’t wait to read it!

  2. Willowwind says:

    You know I like JMG’s other work, so you could guess I would like this. But I thought it was very well constructed. Usually monotheism presents itself as being a more philosophcially advanced concept than polytheism (besides the claim of Truth). JMG deconstructs this claim very well, showing that monotheism, in fact, has a number of philosophical problems that have proved intractable even to many of the greatest Christian philosophers such as Thomas Aquinas. I think he also shows quite convincingly that polytheism can be melded nicely enough with modern science without the device of different magisterial domains because the polytheistic gods do not need to be (and IMO should not be) construed as being outside of Nature. According to Greer polytheism can shed some valuable light on the current human condition and help facilitate change to a more sustainable world situation with its emphasis on reverence for nature. This could and should be cosidered a foundation work for both modern paganism and religious naturalism.

    • celticscholar says:

      I agree, now if only paganism is seen by people who follow it as a real religion…I’m not sure if I am being harsh, but from what I have seen I’m not hopeful.

  3. Slag310 says:

    Oh, someone else who is actually considering Celtic paganism as a religion. I thought tht was an interesting observation, that many people (both monotheists and pagans) don’t seem to treat it that way. Here’s my website, with a page on specifically celtic aspects http://pierce.yolasite.com/celtic and I find that the most interesting part of it is actually the worship.

    Slag310

    • celticscholar says:

      Yep, I know the word worship and I am not afraid to use it lol. Actually, I think it stems from the fact that people don’t want Paganism as a whole to resemble the monotheistic religions that they forget that in the in it is a religion. They worry that if they start calling it a religion and “worshiping” then lo and behold a dogma will appear and god forbid that should happen! I doubt that will happen simply because Paganism is so diverse. Now different groups might have their own ways of worshiping, and I don’t see anything wrong with that…

Leave a Reply

